Vision and Church Plans

Vision: Building a church filled with true love and talents
The essence of the gospel is eternal and unchanging, but the method by which it is spread to others need to change according to the changes in the era and culture. We all agree that in different cities or regions, there should be different missionary strategies. Building a church is one of the most efficient and reliable missionary strategies which create the most influence to the local area. But what is the most rapid and effective way to build a church?

Building a church is not equivalent to building a church building
Having our own church building would make things a lot easier and more convenient. However, with Australia's high prices, expensive urban lands, restrictions with the neighbours and parking associated with having a church building, and maintenance fees, it will take up half of the church's resources already. With churches of all sizes, we can see that Australia used to be a country in Christian revival. However, these days we often hear about church buildings being converted into restaurants because it had to cease functioning due to the lack of members. Many Christians lament at this. The church is defined as a group of Christians who gather together for worship, fellowship ministry, discipleship and evangelism. If a church does not have the above functions, then it is just an architectural building. In the past, the Western churches has put too much emphasis on the hardware, but overlooked the importance of updating the software, and that is how we have come to the current scene today.

Convenience Store Type Churches
Australia is sparsely populated, and the Chinese migrants are spread over a wide area, so it is difficult to select a suitable place for gathering. Many people pick a church based on where their peers are as well as the church’s atmosphere and vision. If a church member has to drive for more than one hour back and forth, it means his/her desire to seek the Lord is admirable, but it is very difficult for these church members to spread the gospel to their neighbours or bring new believers to their church, even if they can offer them lifts. However, if we can have set up a gathering place close to where they live, then it is easier to invite these people. If churches can be everywhere like convenience stores, then that makes it easy to get to a church and an effective gospel spreading strategy.

The Bread of Life Christian Church received a vision to plant ten church branches across Sydney, and the "1503" church planting strategy. This vision extended from John 21:11 where the disciples caught 153 big fishes when they followed Jesus' instructions. The strategy is, each time the church co-workers number reaches 150 people and there are 3 cell group gatherings at a particular location, to send 50 co-workers to rent a community centre or school hall to plant a church at that particular location. This way, the new church will already have 50 co-workers to begin with, so it has a basic infrastructure. Sending a group of Christian warriors to take a land is a lot easier than sending a pastor couple and starting everything from scratch. By co-workers, we are not referring to the typical "consumer" church members, but the "production" type of church member who are serving in church ministry. Before the commissioning ceremony, those who are staying and those who are being commissioned have already been trained to work as independent groups, and had practical trial runs. This lightens the load of ministry and increases the success rate of church planting.

Church planting as a team
"One giving birth to one, two giving birth to one, three giving birth to…" The "1503" rapid church planting strategy employs the idea of teamwork and resource sharing. The church is no longer fighting alone. Relationships do not fade after church planting, or only to assist when the planted branch encounters difficulties. Whenever a branch experiences difficulties, the whole 1503 network face it together. We will also be building all the planned branches together. Another words, when A branch has 130 co-workers, B branch has 120 c-workers, then they can form a new team of 50 people to plant another branch. This way, the speed of church planting will accelerate as we plant more churches.

Thank God! In March 2012, Bread of Life Christian Church in Northern Sydney commissioned 50 co-workers to plant a new church in West Ryde through renting the West Ryde Community Centre as the premise, the Grace Bread of Life Christian Church in Sydney. After two months of trial runs, the number of people attending the Sunday service always remained above 70 people, and the church held its official opening ceremony on 13 May 2012. There were a few co-workers who had to help out in both branches until July, when the two churches officially started functioning independently. We pray that we can train more co-workers before the end of the year, so that both branches grow stably. With the Lord's permission, we expect to see another church planted in 2014, and the completion of all ten branches by 2022. We would like to share this vision with you, and we hope to see churches planted everywhere throughout the land, the spread of the gospel, to welcome Christ's second coming.

1503 Mission Network - Vision and Church Planting Strategy

異象及植堂策略

異象:建立充滿真愛與能力的門徒教會
福音的本質永恆不變,但傳達的方法要隨著時代及文化而改變。我們都同意在不同的地區或城市,應有不同的宣教模式。其中建立教會是最有效、最穩固,且對當地最有影響力的宣教方式,但是如何才能快速、有效地建立教會?

建立教會不等於蓋教堂
能擁有自己的教堂,確實方便輕鬆許多,但是目前澳洲物價高、市區土地昂貴,購買堂會時,還有鄰居、停車場的繁瑣限制,再加上平日的維護費,差不多全教會一半的精力都要耗進去。從許多大小林立的教堂,我們可以發現澳洲曾經是一個基督信仰很復興的國家,但是不斷聽到教堂因為沒有會友而維持不下去,必須出售或改建為餐廳,令許多基督徒不勝唏噓。教會是指一群基督徒在一起進行敬拜、團契、服事、門訓及傳福音,若是教堂沒有以上功能,它不過僅僅是一棟建築物。過去西人過於投注在硬體的建設,卻忽略了軟體的建造與更新,才會走到今天這個光景。

教會能像便利商店
澳洲地廣人稀,再加上移民華人分佈廣闊,聚會地點的選擇實屬不易。因為朋友或教會的氣氛、異象,不少會友選擇參加某一教會,但每次的往返動輒開車1小時以上,渴慕主的心雖令人佩服,但要傳福音將他們家附近的慕道友每周邀來教會,即便是搭便車,也不是一件持久的事。但是如果能將聚會地點放在他們居住的附近,再去關心、邀請他們來,就容易的多了。如果教會能像便利商店四處都有,容易到達,就可達到福音廣傳的果效。

『1503』
北雪梨靈糧堂領受一個要在雪梨遍植10間分堂的異象,和『1503』植堂的策略,出於(約21:11)門徒因聽從主的指示而捕獲了153條大魚。就是在教會同工門徒達到150人,並且在該地區已經成立了3個小組時,便差派50位同工門徒去當地租用社區中心或學校禮堂,成立另一間教會。讓教會一開始就有50位同工投入服事,可具備基本規模。免除僅由一對傳道人從頭慘澹經營的辛苦,反而是差派一個基督軍團去佔領該地區。所謂的同工門徒是指非僅來參加聚會的「消費型」會友,而是凡參與教會或小組中任何服事者的「生產型」會友。在差派禮前,已將留守及被差者訓練各自成為一個團隊,並實際操練合作過。如此一來,不但事工可以較輕省,其植堂成功率自然較高。

共同開拓教會
「1個生1個,2個一起生1個,3個...」,透過生命共同體、團隊合作及資源共享的理念,這就是『1503』快速植堂的策略。教會不再是單打獨鬥,也不是分植出去以後,關係就漸漸淡化,一直到分堂有問題困難時才出面協助。讓所有的分堂資源及困難,共同來處理面對。讓預計要開拓的新分堂,也由大家共同來承擔,一起來完成。也就是當A分堂有130位同工門徒,B分堂有120位同工門徒時,他們可以共同組成一個50人新的團隊來開拓教會,以此類推。如此一來教會成立的速度會越來越快。

感謝主!北雪梨靈糧堂於2012年3月差派50位同工去West Ryde區租用社區中心,成立恩典靈糧堂。經過2個月的運作,每次崇拜至少有70人以上,並於2012年5月13日舉行正式開堂禮拜,7月起各自獨立運作,避免同工疲於奔命。我們求主幫助我們能再培訓出更多同工,讓雙邊的教會都在穩定中成長。如果主允許,盼望在2014年可以見到另一間分堂的誕生,最終在2022年前完成10間教會的建立。願意將這個領受與大家分享,就是希望見到教會遍植,福音廣傳,迎接主耶穌的再來。

1503宣教網路異象及植堂策略